Water Softener Compare

Aquasure Water Softeners

What $540 buys

The Harmony series is the cheapest way into a metered whole-house softener in our data, at $540 for 32,000 grains and $630 for 48,000. That is roughly a third of what SpringWell charges at the same capacities. What you give up is not obviously performance. It is documentation, and there is more of it missing here than anywhere else we track.

A third of the price of the direct-to-consumer brands

Line the capacities up and the gap is stark. A 32,000-grain Harmony is $540 against $1,367 for the SoftPro Elite and $1,607 for the SpringWell SS1. At 48,000 grains it is $630 against $1,457 and $1,785.

Both Harmony units have a digital metered head, which is the feature that actually matters for running cost. A metered softener regenerates on water used rather than on a clock, and that is the difference between a modern unit and a 2000s timer unit that wastes salt regenerating on a schedule whether the house needs it or not. Aquasure includes a bypass valve, which SpringWell charges $59 for.

Sold direct and through Amazon, so the price is checkable in the same way Rheem's Home Depot pricing is.

What you give up is documentation

Aquasure publishes grain capacity, tank dimensions, a metered head and a household size recommendation. Here is what is absent from its spec pages for both Harmony units:

  • Service flow rate. No GPM figure at all, which makes it impossible to check the unit against a house that draws two showers and a dishwasher at once. Every other salt-based brand we track publishes this.
  • Salt per regeneration. No dose figure, so the running cost cannot be estimated and the advertised grain capacity cannot be placed on an efficiency scale.
  • Water per regeneration. Not stated, which matters on a septic system.
  • Maximum hardness and iron tolerance. Neither is published. On well water this is disqualifying, because iron rating is the specification that decides whether a softener survives.
  • NSF or ANSI certification. None listed. The 32,000-grain capacity claim has no independent verification behind it, where GE and Whirlpool cite NSF/ANSI 44 at a similar price.

Warranty terms are also unclear. The 32K lists a 5-year limited warranty through an authorized retailer with registration required for an extension, and the 48K describes an extension without stating the baseline. Retailers cite 5 years.

Every Aquasure unit we track

ModelTypeCapacitySalt/regenFlowCertificationsWarrantyPrice
Aquasure Harmony AS-HS48Dsalt-based48,000 gr———Extended warranty with registration (baseline not stated, retailers cite 5-year limited)$630Check price
Aquasure Harmony AS-HS32Dsalt-based32,000 gr———5-year limited (per authorized retailer, registration required for extension)$540Check price

Specs read from manufacturer pages. Each unit's page lists its source and check date. “—” means not yet sourced, never guessed.

Who should take the bet

If you are on municipal water, you know your hardness, and the alternative is no softener at all, the Harmony is a reasonable purchase. A metered head at $540 does the core job, and the missing specifications mostly describe things that do not vary enormously between conventional down-flow units at this capacity.

If you are on a well, buy something else. Without a published iron rating you are guessing at the one number that determines whether the resin lasts ten years or three, and the Rheem Preferred Plus at $589 publishes 11 ppm for $41 more.

The same logic applies if flow rate is tight. A house with two full bathrooms running simultaneously needs a known GPM figure, and Aquasure does not give you one. The GE GXSH40V at $569 states 9.5 GPM and carries NSF/ANSI 44 certification, which is a small premium for numbers you can check.

Where to go from here

Brand matters less than size and type. Start with the capacity your household needs, then decide salt-based vs salt-free, and only then compare Aquasure against the alternatives at that size in the full comparison chart.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Aquasure a good water softener brand?

It is the cheapest metered option in our data at $540 to $630, and a metered head is the feature that matters most for salt cost. The weakness is disclosure: Aquasure publishes no flow rate, no salt dose, no water use, no iron limit and no NSF certification for the Harmony units. On municipal water with known hardness that is an acceptable trade. On well water it is not.

What is the flow rate of the Aquasure Harmony?

Aquasure does not publish one for either Harmony unit. That is unusual, since every other salt-based brand we track states a service flow rate. Our chart leaves the cell empty rather than estimating it.

Can the Aquasure Harmony handle well water with iron?

There is no published iron rating, so there is no way to know. For well water, choose a unit that states an iron limit. The Rheem Preferred Plus RHS42 publishes 11 ppm at $589 and the Whirlpool WHES40 publishes 10 ppm.