Aquasure Harmony AS-HS48D
48,000-grain salt-based softener · $630
| Type | salt-based |
| Grain capacity (max, at highest salt dose) | 48,000 grains |
| Salt per regeneration (max dose) | — |
| Regeneration | metered |
| Service flow rate | — |
| Max hardness | — |
| Iron removal | — |
| Water per regeneration | — |
| Certifications | None stated on source page |
| Warranty | Extended warranty with registration (baseline not stated, retailers cite 5-year limited) |
| Dimensions | — |
| Bypass valve included | — |
| Recommended household | 4-5 bathrooms, up to 5-6 people |
Worth knowing
Same spec-sparseness as the 32K Harmony: metered head stated, but no published flow rate, salt dose, hardness limit, or certifications.
Specs read from the manufacturer's documentation on 2026-08-22. Fields shown as “—” were not stated there.
What Aquasure publishes, and what it does not
This is one of the thinnest records in the chart. Aquasure states a capacity and a price and then stops, well before the figures that would let you check the unit against your own water, and we would rather show you that than paper over it with numbers from a reseller.
Of the specifications a buyer actually needs to size and compare this unit, Aquasure publishes 2 of 8. No third-party certification is cited on the source page.
Not published for this unit:
- maximum hardness, which tells you whether the unit is rated for your water at all.
- dimensions, which determines whether it fits the space you have.
- service flow rate, which decides whether two showers can run at once without a pressure drop.
- salt per regeneration, which the number that sets your running cost.
Also absent from Aquasure's documentation for this unit: water per regeneration, iron tolerance.
Those cells stay empty in the table above. We do not fill them from retailer listings or third-party reviews, because a number nobody measured is worse than a blank that tells you to ask.
How it sits in the Aquasure range
The Harmony AS-HS48D is the largest Aquasure unit we track at 48,000 grains. Alongside it sits the Harmony AS-HS32D: the Harmony AS-HS32D drops 16,000 grains for $90 less on different warranty terms.
Who this suits, and who should skip it
A good fit for:
- Mid-sized households, which is where most buyers land. 48,000 grains covers a typical family without the price of the largest units.
- Anyone replacing an older timer softener. A metered head regenerates on water actually used rather than on a schedule, which is where most of the salt saving in a modern unit comes from.
- Budget-led buys. At $630 this sits at the affordable end of the category, and the gap to the direct-to-consumer brands is large enough to fund years of salt.
Look elsewhere if:
- Well water, because there is no published iron rating to check against. Buying without that number means guessing at the specification that matters most on a well.
The closest alternative on price
If you are cross-shopping, the nearest unit we track on price is the Rheem Preferred Plus RHS42. They are priced within $41 of each other. and carries 6,000 grains less capacity.
| Model | Type | Capacity | Flow | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aquasure Harmony AS-HS48D | salt-based | 48,000 gr | — | $630 | Check price |
| Rheem Preferred Plus RHS42 | salt-based | 42,000 gr | 9.9 GPM | $589 | At The Home Depot |
Specs read from manufacturer pages. Each unit's page lists its source and check date. “—” means not yet sourced, never guessed.
Mistakes to avoid at this size
- Buying the number on the box. Aquasure does not publish the salt dose behind the 48,000-grain figure on this unit, so there is no way to place it on an efficiency scale against a unit that does. Treat the badge as a ceiling, not a working capacity.
- Filling in the iron rating from a review. No iron figure is published for this unit, and third-party reviews frequently invent one. Each 1 ppm of dissolved iron loads resin roughly like an extra 4 gpg of hardness, so guessing here is guessing at resin life.
- Sizing from the house instead of the water. Capacity needed is household size multiplied by hardness, so two identical houses on different water need different softeners. Test the water first, then size to the result.
- Treating the unit price as the installed cost. Installation is frequently comparable to the hardware. At $630 this unit can land at roughly double once a drain line, bypass and labor are counted, which reorders the budget rankings considerably.
Compare with similar units
| Model | Type | Capacity | Flow | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SpringWell SS+ Salt-Based Softener | salt-based | 80,000 gr | 20 GPM | $2,678 | Check price |
| SpringWell SS4 Salt-Based Softener | salt-based | 48,000 gr | 13 GPM | $1,785 | Check price |
| SoftPro Elite Smart HE 48,000 | salt-based | 48,000 gr | 15 GPM | $1,457 | Check price |
| Aquasure Harmony AS-HS48D | salt-based | 48,000 gr | — | $630 | Check price |
| GE GXSH45V | salt-based | 45,100 gr | 9.5 GPM | $586 | Check price |
| A.O. Smith AO-WH-SOFT-450T | salt-based | 45,000 gr | 7.5 GPM | — | Retail only |
Specs read from manufacturer pages. Each unit's page lists its source and check date. “—” means not yet sourced, never guessed.
Not sure this is the right size? Run the 20-second sizing calculator. Or see every Aquasure softener and how the range compares.